RSS Feed

Blog Tour: The Silent Girls by Ann Troup..

Posted on

 

I’m very excited to have the pleasure of being the last stop for the The Silent Girls blog tour. A fantastic book written by an equally fantastic writer.  This is my first Ann Troup read so without further ado,let’s find out more about this new and vibrant author. 

Author Bio:

  

Ann Troup tells tales and can always make something out of nothing (which means she writes books and can create unique things from stuff other people might not glance twice at). She was once awarded 11 out of 10 for a piece of poetry at school – she now holds that teacher entirely responsible for her inclination to write.

Her writing space is known as ‘the empty nest’, having formerly been her daughters bedroom. She shares this space with ten tons of junk and an elderly Westie, named Rooney, who is her constant companion whether she likes it or not. He likes to contribute to the creative process by going to sleep on top of her paperwork and running away with crucial post-it notes, which have inadvertently become stuck to his fur. She is thinking of renaming him Gremlin.
She lives by the sea in Devon with her husband and said dog. Two children have been known to remember the place that they call home, but mainly when they are in need of a decent roast dinner, it’s Christmas or when only Mum will do. She also has extremely decent stepchildren.
In a former incarnation she was psychiatric nurse, an experience which frequently informs her writing. She has also owned a cafe and an art/craft gallery. Now she only makes bacon sandwiches as a sideline, but does continue to dabble with clay, paint, paper, textiles, glue…you name it. Occasionally she may decide to give away some of these creations (you have been warned!).
More about Ann and her books can be found in the following places:

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreads 


Blurb:

What if everything you knew was a lie…

This house has a past that won’t stay hidden, and it is time for the dead to speak.

Returning to Number 17, Coronation Square, Edie is shocked to find the place she remembers from childhood reeks of mould and decay. After her aunt Dolly’s death Edie must clear out the home on a street known for five vicious murders many years ago, but under the dirt and grime of years of neglect lurk dangerous truths.

For in this dark house there is misery, sin and dark secrets that can no longer stay hidden. The truth must come out.

Finding herself dragged back into the horrific murders of the past, Edie must find out what really happened all those years ago. But as Edie uncovers the history of the family she had all but forgotten, she begins to wonder if sometimes it isn’t best to leave them buried.

An unforgettable and addictive story, perfect for fans of Lesley Thomson, Diane Chamberlain and Tracy Buchanan. 


Review:

When I first came across came this book, I was intrigued by the cover and title, somehow a part of me knew straight away that there’s going to be something special about this book and I as I finished the last page, I was happy that my initial perspective was spot on. 

The story revolves around our protagonist Edie, who returns to Coronation Sqaure only to find herself tangled in a web of deceit that started long before. 5 murders, solved and forgotten. Or were they? As the plot unfolds, it becomes clear that there’s much more to the stories behind the murders than what has been told and we join Edie as she searches for answers no one seems to know. 

As the lead, Edie was near enough perfect. She was full of strength, responsibility, leadership and love that allowed her character to be three dimensional. Her character growth was a joy to read. The decisions she makes and conclusions she came to highlighted the realism in this novel. Obviously it’s fiction, but that added element of realism really made the suspense that much better. I also enjoyed her interactions with the secondary characters, good and bad. 

I was pleasantly surprised with her writing style. I admit the first few chapters were a bit slow for me but after that Ann’s writing really picked up and the story began to flow seamlessly. Ann excelled in her setting. The descriptions were so vivid and I enjoyed learning about Coronation Square and everything that was weird and wonderful about it.

Overall, I found the novel a good suspense read that grips you from beginning to end.  There were enough twists and turns to keep me hooked and I found the plot to be very strong and it held the book together. I look forward to more from Ann and I will definitely go back and read her debut. 

Overall Rating: 8/10
Thank you for stopping by my blog today, be sure to check out the previous stops on what was an incredible blog tour! 

  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: