RSS Feed

Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher.. 

Posted on

51q5MJy-fOL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Blurb: 

Sarah is doing just fine. Sure she’s been single for the last five years, and has to spend an uncomfortable amount of time around her ex-boyfriend, his perfect new girlfriend and all their mutual friends. And yes, her job as a PA to one of the most disgusting men in London is mind-numbingly tedious and her career is a constant disappointment to her mother. But it’s really okay. She’s happy (ish).

So it’s not surprising that when Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins to look forward to falling asleep every night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Because no one ever really finds the person of their dreams… do they?

Review:

Where do I possibly start? There are a few romance books that leave me feeling all warm and giddy inside and recently I hadn’t felt like that in a long time until I read Dream a Little Dream. This is my first Giovanna Fletcher read and I know, I know I’m slightly late to the party but I’m so glad I jumped in with this book because it was an absolute joy to read.

The story revolves around our protagonist, Sarah and how she deals with the ups and downs of her life neither of which are made easy thanks to her ex-boyfriend and over-bearing mother. Sarah, like many of us, begins to dream of an individual who would be her ideal other half. Someone she can rely on, have fun with and someone who will make her happy. It’s all rainbows and sunshine until she actually meets the guy of her dreams, literally. From there the story is a roller-coaster of fun, warmth and some pretty memorable scenes. The humour in the novel adds to an already solid plot and enhances the entertainment level up a notch. I absolutely loved the idea for this book, I myself tend to remember quite a bit from my own dreams so it was pretty exciting seeing this new concept being portrayed in a novel.

My favourite character, without an ounce of doubt, was Sarah. Reading her perspective of things, places and people was at time endearing and hilarious. You can’t help but feel drawn to her and her engaging personality. As readers, we’re given a first hand account into her struggles and there were times when I really sympathised with her character. Throughout the novel she overcomes a lot of obstacles and as an individual, we see a real growth to her character. By the end of the novel, Sarah definitely became one of my favourite fictional characters. Brett was wonderful, I won’t spoil too much but I will say that you can never quite get enough of Brett in this novel. Giovanna really makes him a swoon worthy hero!

Another aspect that I found to be a pleasant surprise was Giovanna’s writing style. Her writing is so refreshingly good that it kept me turning page after page. You wouldn’t be able to tell whether or not this was her third novel or thirteenth, it was that good.

There are many moments of joy, laughter, happiness as well as some bittersweet episodes and as such this novel makes for a highly entertaining read. If you’re a fan of romance novels, then I would definitely recommend this book. Giovanna Fletcher is a natural storyteller, her voice shines throughout the narrative and puts this novel at the top with some of the best. As I said earlier, Dream a Little Dream left me feeling gloriously warm and giddy and 100% satisfied. I will definitely go back and read her previous two novels but for now I would recommend enjoying this wonderful summer read!

Overall Rating: 10/10

You can find out more about Giovanna and her books from the following places:

Official WebsiteTwitter

Leave a Reply

