RSS Feed

Favourite Crime/Suspense Authors – Part 1..

Posted on

crime-fiction-short-stoy-submission

It’s hard to say when I first fell in love with the crime/suspense genre but over the years there have been a handful number of authors who I can thank for allowing my love for crime fiction to develop. Majority of the time I enjoy some romance within my crime novels but authors who manage to grip me without the romance are just as brilliant.

My list of favourite authors will always be never-ending but I’ve compiled two lists that’ll discuss why I love these particular authors and their books. I’ve decided to split this blog post in two parts. The first part will look at my favourite American authors and the second part will discuss my favourite British authors.


In no particular order: 

Allison Brennan 

Allison_Brennan_photo

Why I love them:

I’ve known about Allison Brennan for a long time and I’ve been reading her books just as long. For me the one thing that I absolutely love about her books are her characters. One of the first books I read was called Speak No Evil. For a while I had kept off reading Allison’s books until I finally caved and read the first book in the No Evil trilogy and boy was I hooked. The character dynamics in that particular book were brilliant. From the heroes to the villain, each character was three dimensional and the internal struggle that they faced was depicted beautifully through the words of Brennan. I finished the trilogy in a matter of days and instantly craved more. Allison has quite a few romantic thrillers and I enjoyed reading most of them. Of course there is romance in her books and for someone who loves a bit of romance, this wasn’t exactly an issue for me, instead it added more substance to the story and the entertainment level just went up a notch. After reading the first few of her Lucy Kincaid books, I can say without a doubt that Allison has become one of my all time favourite crime/suspense authors. From her writing style to nail-biting plots, she’s definitely paved a way into my heart with her incredibly satisfying books and I hope that she continues to entertain for many more years to come.

Favourite book: 

Love Me to Death – Book 1 of the Lucy Kincaid Series

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Sandra Brown

sandra brown

Why I love them:

I started reading Sandra Brown’s books before I even realised how much I actually enjoy the crime/suspense genre and I definitely credit Sandra for allowing me to enjoy suspense and crime to my heart’s content. The one thing that first drew me towards her books, and has kept me hooked to this day, was her plots. I find it hard to think of someone who writes a brilliantly twisted plot as easily as Sandra. My first Sandra Brown book was Slow Heat in Heaven. Before then I had never read a book where I was met with a cliffhanger at the end of every chapter. I had absolutely no idea what to expect after turning a page and for me that was a refreshing style of writing that I adored. Fortunately for me, and many other fans, Sandra’s books, since then, have just gotten better and better. Every book has a new plot with so many twists and turns that it leaves your head spinning. Even when you think you’ve figured it all out, Sandra will throw in another little bit of a juicy twist and you find yourself questioning everything you just read up to that moment. As a result, there was no doubt in my mind that Sandra wouldn’t become one of my personal favourites. I hear that she has a new book coming out called Friction and I for one am eagerly anticipating its release.

Favourite book: 

Exclusive – Standalone Novel

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


James Patterson 

james-patterson

Why I love them:

It’s one thing loving an author’s book and another thing being in love with the book’s hero. That unfortunately, or fortunately for me, is what happens when you start reading a novel by the brilliant James Patterson. I have been a fan of the Alex Cross series for as long as I can possibly remember. From the writing style, to the dynamics of the characters, James includes it all. Making the Alex Cross series one of the best loved crime/suspense series in the world. Apart from that I am a huge fan of his Women’s Murder Club series and one of my favourite James Patterson books, is from that series. Nothing guarantees a good crime fiction like a story about a group of women busting the bad guys. Again I absolutely love the way in which he creates and develops his characters and that’s probably the best thing about a series of books, the development of the protagonist(s). No one does it better than James and for that I will always be eternally grateful for coming across his books at my school library, when I was younger. It’s difficult to put into words just how much I appreciate and love his books but I can definitely say one thing: if you ever need a good crime/suspense fix then pick up a James Patterson book, doesn’t matter which, every single one of his books are guaranteed to keep you entertained for a long, long time and you’ll turn the last page feeling 100% satisfied.

Favourite book: 

The 6th Target – Book 6 of the Women’s Murder Club Series

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Tess Gerritsen

Tess Gerritsen

Why I love them:

I distinctly remember when I read my first Tess Gerritsen book, The Surgeon; I had to put the book down after a few chapters because I ended up reading well into the early hours of the morning. I had never before been so captivated by a book as I was by The Surgeon. Another reason for stopping for a while was because I was scared. Yes, most definitely scared beyond my imagination and I absolutely loved that a book could do that to me. Since then whenever I’ve read a book by Tess, I have never failed to be scared, every single one of her books gives me the chills and for that reason alone she is definitely one of my favourites. I really appreciate it when authors give readers a deep insight into the minds and/or lives of our villains. I’ve always been curious about how their minds tick and Tess gives us that in spades. Her villains are the most horrifying and terrifyingly captivating villains I have ever come across in crime and suspense fiction. They literally give me goosebumps and make the plot so much more taut and brilliantly suspenseful. I am a huge fan of the Rizzoli and Isles series and as a result I’ve also become hooked onto the television series, which is just as incredible as the books. Tess Gerritsen is a master storyteller and with her characters she creates this world of suspense fiction that is exceptionally thrilling and I’ve definitely become a big fan of it.

Favourite book: 

The Killing Place – Book 8 of the Rizzoli and Isles Series

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Patricia Cornwell 

patricia cornwell

Why I love them:

Every reader has that one author whom they believe is the best at their genre. For me, Patricia Cornwell is the queen of crime and suspense fiction. Perhaps because I’ve been a fan of her books from a young age or perhaps because her books are just that good, Patricia’s books have always held a special place in my heart. One of the first authors of this genre that I came across, she had me intrigued from the get go and to this day I am just one small part of her loyal army of fans.  I remember when I first read her book Post-Mortem, as someone who was just about to turn fifteen, this was a turning point in my life. Patricia’s book was so well written and thought out that from the start to the finish I just couldn’t stop turning the pages. Her story, writing and plot gripped me in such a way that it changed my perspective of the crime/suspense genre forever. Sounds dramatic, I know but when you’re an avid bookworm there comes a time in your life when you will be affected by a book and this was one instance for me. After finishing this book I remember thinking wow, what on earth have I just read? This is absolutely brilliant! From then on Kay Scarpetta became one of my all time favourite book characters and I’m so delighted that Patricia hasn’t let this series die down because the books in this series are true gems. Again I hear there will be a new Kay Scarpetta book being published, and like with the Sandra Brown book, I am eagerly anticipating its release.

Favourite book: 

The Body Farm – Book 5 of the Kay Scarpetta Series

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Harlan Coben

harlancoben

Why I love them:

Good storytelling is a must in any book but in crime/suspense fiction you have to be at the top of your game. Harlan Coben has without a doubt written some of the best books I’ve ever come across in this genre and it’s all thanks to his brilliant storytelling. Harlan is one author who can weave a good suspense story with some ease but that is all down to his talented self. For me it’s a joy to pick up one of Harlan’s books. They’re always a pleasure to read. His writing style is what first drew me in, so refreshing and unique in its vividness of the plot as well as its simplicity. There’s just something about his writing style that leaves you feeling insightful, poignant and 100% entertained. There is no doubt that Harlan’s Myron Bolitar series is widely acclaimed but some of my favourite books are his standalone novels, that offer just as much intrigue, suspense and murder to keep you hooked throughout. His books never fail to thrill and I love that aspect of his novels because there are so many authors that are unable to interweave intriguing storytelling with masterful suspense and moments of absolute thrills but Harlan never fails to deliver. As such there’s no way I wouldn’t love his books and I’ll always be eternally grateful to one of my friends who first recommended his books to me.

Favourite book: 

The Woods – Standalone Novel

More about the author:

Official WebsiteFacebookTwitter


Hope you enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. These authors are fabulous in their own way and I’m so glad we have their books to enjoy and devour. The second part of my favourite crime/suspense authors will focus on the Brits!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Favourite Crime/Suspense Authors – Part 2.. | Sim's Bookish Thoughts..

  2. Hi! I just finished reading Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn and it’s left me wanting more crime/thriller/ suspense but I had no idea on who’s good. Your list is fantastic, thank you! I think I like the look of Patricia Cornwell, any recommendations on which book of hers to start with? Are they all stand alone? (I don’t want to pick one at random and accidentally come in in the middle of a series!)

    Reply
    • Thank you!! I do love a good crime thriller myself and Sharp Objects is fab! Patricia Cornwell is brilliant, regardless of what book you read but I would definitely recommend reading Postmortem which is her first novel in the Kay Scarpetta series. The series is perfect in terms of crime and suspense, so I think it’s right up your street. She does have a few standalone books but some of my all time favourite are within this series. Enjoy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

