RSS Feed

A letter to my 16 year old self..

Posted on

My younger sister is turning 16 in a few days and it got me thinking about how much I’ve changed since I was 16 and so I decided to write a letter to my 16 year old self.


Dear Sonu,

I know the first thing that’ll annoy you at this age is the nickname you were given by your school friends, Rosy. It’s okay, I know right now it seems like the bane of your existence but don’t worry so much because some day down the line, someone will compliment your rosiness and make you look at it in a different way where you won’t feel constantly embarrassed about it.

Life looks pretty miserable right now what with all the impending GCSE exams hovering over you as well as school problems, friendships and crushes all just causing unnecessary stress. Word of advice, work hard, focus on your studies and you’ll do well. Some friendships will last and others won’t that doesn’t mean there’s something wrong with you, its just the way life works. You will all go in different directions but the ones that matter will still be a part of your life. And crushes, well believe you me when you get to my age you’ll laugh and say what was I thinking? But more than that you’ll learn that you’re still a teenager and so is your crush, you may feel more mature and wiser but you’re not, not really. You need time to understand the way in which this world works and right now you should just enjoy the moment and embrace it.

Going to a faith school is hard, very hard for someone like you, who’s a shy girl. I know you feel like you just blend into the crowd and sometimes even when you want to, you’re unable to detach yourself from the herd of teenagers. But there’s one thing you should know, be proud. Be proud of who you are and what you stand for. Stand up for yourself and don’t follow the crowd because you and I both know that you’re not a sheep.

At 16 you’ll feel like the world is closing in on you. Nothing seems to be going right and you feel insecure and unhappy. I can tell you this though, life is all about learning and learning is what you’ll do. The world can be a brilliant place, you just have to find your place in it and I know that you will. Right now you’re uncertain of the paths you want to take but don’t worry because I know everything will fall into place. Enjoy the moments spent with your friends and listen to your family because trust me they know best and are always right.

Don’t live life afraid, live it like a superhero. Go enjoy the little moments, go eat that ice-cream you’re craving or go watch that movie that you’ve been waiting for, for so long. You don’t need to wear make-up or go partying to fit in. You don’t need to fit in. Life is all about being different and standing out. Be who you want to be, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Don’t worry about making mistakes because one thing I do know is that these mistakes will make you a stronger, better individual.

Oh and one more thing, just remember to keep on smiling.

Love, Simran.

2 responses »

  1. So inspiring I’ll keep this in mind for when I’m 16.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

