RSS Feed

Vision in White by Nora Roberts..

Posted on

 

vision in white - nora roberts

Blurb:

The first book in the Bride Quartet—following the lives and loves of four friends who run Vows, a wedding-planning company. Wedding photographer Mackensie “Mac” Elliot is most at home behind the camera, but her focus is shattered moments before an important wedding rehearsal when she bumps into the bride-to-be’s brother…an encounter that has them both seeing stars.

A stable, safe English teacher, Carter Maguire is definitely not Mac’s type. But a casual fling might be just what she needs to take her mind off bridezillas. Of course, casual flings can turn into something more when you least expect it. And Mac will have to turn to her three best friends—and business partners—to see her way to her own happy ending.

Review:

I’m an old romantic at heart so when I first came across this book, I was ecstatic. From the blurb I knew that there would be lots of romance, girly talks, friendship and family aspects that I think is an absolute must in romance books.

I’m already a huge fan of Nora Roberts and I have previously loved her Chesapeake Series which were a delight to read. When Vision in White came out I was on cloud nine, literally. This is the first book in a series of four, and it tells the story of a group of childhood best friends (Mackensie, Parker, Laurel and Emmaline) who now run their own wedding-planning company. Vision in White focuses on the story of Mackensie, and how she overcomes her fears of ‘a happily ever after’ and falls slowly but surely in love with Carter Maguire.

I liked Mac’s character because she was independent, fierce (when required to be) and incredibly loyal to her friends. She’s a photographer for the company and loves to make someone else’s wedding day special. I understood Mac’s fears of not believing in marriages herself because of her personal experience with bad parenting. Her mum is unstable and egoistical and her father has been absent since she was a little girl. This would therefore make anyone wary of marriage and long-term relationships.

However, this is where Carter comes into the picture. I don’t think I’ve ever loved a hero as much as I loved Carter. He’s nerdy, clumsy, intelligent, cute and incredibly charming. Oh did I mention he’s also an English teacher? For me, Carter is the complete opposite of what most heroes are portrayed as; he’s not got a six pack, not an alpha male, not a ‘bad boy’, he wears glasses and loves literature. Probably one of the most realistic interpretations of a hero, in a novel, till date. Kudos to Nora for that! It’s also for that reason why I think he’s so lovable, I could easily relate to him and he was definitely the star of this book.

I loved the family/friendship dynamics of the four friends and how they stick together through thick and thin. By the end of the book, I found myself wishing that this wedding-planning quartet were real and not just fictional characters. The story does at times drag on a bit and I found myself skipping some parts in order to get to Carter’s scenes more quickly. However, it doesn’t take away from the beauty of the writing and it is a typical Nora Roberts novel where you can be assured that whatever happens throughout the story, there will always be a happy ending.

I recommend this book to all romance fans and chick-lit fans because it’s an absolute joy to read. Also if you love this book, do read the others in the series: Bed of Roses (Emmaline’s story), Savour the Moment (Laurel’s story) and Happy Ever After (Parker’s story).

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

