RSS Feed

Please Forgive Me by Melissa Hill..

Posted on

melissa hill

Blurb:

Have you ever dreamed of running away? Of just leaving the past behind you?

Leonie has done just that. She’s moved to another country and got a new job, a new home, a brand new life. . .But when she discovers a box of unread love letters in the bottom of her wardrobe, all ending with the words ‘please forgive me’, she finds herself drawn to the mystery behind them.

Can the unravelling of another person’s story help Leonie deal with her own past and her own secrets? All she knows is that she has to try. Because if the couple behind the love letters had a happy ending, then perhaps she just might too.

Review:

I wouldn’t have actually read this book if it wasn’t for my sister, so first and foremost big thank you to her for introducing me to the fantastic Melissa Hill.

Melissa Hill writes an extraordinary tale of three parallel stories that interweave with one another, with the past and present clashing in such ways that I was compelled to read on and on into the night. It has to be said, this book didn’t allow me to sleep much but that’s predominately why I loved it so much.

The plot has so many twists and turns that I was kept fully engaged throughout the book. Hill gives us vibrant 3-dimensional characters, whom we can easily relate to. The main story revolves around the heroine of this novel, Leonie. A girl who’s fled from her native Dublin after a broken heart to a new city and a new life. Leonie finding a box of old unopened letters is when the story really starts to unfold and the reader is given a glimpse into the lives of two extraordinary lovers.

Initially, I did get confused at times because the story is told through past and present events, so I did find myself going back to the beginning sometimes to get a good handle on things. However, that doesn’t take away from the easy flow of the writing or from Melissa’s incredible imagination, which makes this book what it is.

What I loved most about this book was that Melissa talks in great detail about forgiveness. This story made me question if I were ever in a situation, like the characters in the book, would I forgive easily or not? What does it mean to fully forgive someone and how should one ask for forgiveness? I was so intrigued by Melissa’s interpretation of this concept and loved that she gives you two sides to a story.

Melissa Hill gives a realistic insight into three different – yet at times similar – love stories, all of which are set in different times and places. If you’re a romance fan, then this book is definitely for you, I can’t recommend this book enough. It will take you on an emotional journey that will have you rooting for each and every one of the characters within this book. It was absolutely impossible to put this book down and Melissa Hill has now become one of my all-time favourites.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10

Leave a Reply

